Raleigh, NC Commercial Photography
Photographer: Shane Deruise

I have to say… this weekend I shot what might be the fastest shoot in my 14 years of shooting. Shoot during a hurricane? DAMN RIGHT!

Matt Papa has been continuously refining his music and instilling faith within thousands and thousands of people worldwide. Listen to his music and you can’t help but be touched on a spiritual level. So when the opportunity to photograph the gospel-rock phenom arose, you bet I jumped on it.

Shane Deruise Photography

Upon arriving to the location I was told that instead of 1 hour to work with I literally had 30 minutes to setup and shoot. Mind you, I had told my assistant to stay at home because I thought I was not crunched for time. Don’t think I’m complaining, cause I’m not… It was a great experience and I would do it everyday if I had the chance.

When you get the rare opportunity to shoot someone as amazing as Matt Papa you suck it up, get it done, and enjoy the experience. The lighting wasn’t an easy setup either, 5-6 strobes with a 10ft white backdrop and miscellaneous grip work.

After setup and one test pop, Matt stepped in. Eight shots and 4 minutes later he stepped out, thanked me, and the stage whisked him away.

Shane Deruise Photography

I like the second image, because it shows a very vulnerable side…

Shane Deruise Photography

Did I mention I had an AlienBees 800 drop 12 feet, hit the ground with a sickening thud, and still fire! THANK YOU PAUL C. BUFF!

Did I also mention I was packed up in 6 minutes? Not to brag…

Looking forward to doing some video work with him, so subscribe to my Youtube for all video updates so you don’t miss out.

If you get a chance check out his music, inspiring: Matt Papa.

