Raleigh, NC Commercial Photography
Photographer: Shane Deruise

It is a simple pleasure to make it out to shoot the state fair behind the scenes. Perhaps it’s because I relate more to the hard working, nomadic, separated souls that are sent before the cotton candy or the deep-friend-snickers than I do to the herds of human livestock corralled between the steel guardrails.

It takes me back to my professional wrestling days, when all the crowd would see are the performers… the superstars flying through the air. Never mind the booker, the ring crew, the gorilla position. The smoke and mirrors that is a glorious spectacle.

Just to sit and talk with them, oh the stories, the lives, and the families.

They let me in, and hug me each and every year… why? From what they tell me, it’s because unlike most photographers that meander by and snap a shot, hoping not to be noticed, I stop… and talk to them. Share with them. I do not only take, but I give as well… and each day I return with photographs in hand to give to everyone that I shot the day before, be it a person, building, animal… I try my hardest to find everyone.

And I miss them during the year, but always look forward to the crisp autumn when an old friend returns.

Remember to give back…

Shane Deruise Photography

Shane Deruise Photography

Shane Deruise Photography

Shane Deruise Photography

