Raleigh, NC Commercial Photography
Photographer: Shane Deruise


click to enlarge
Shane Deruise Photography

There are a handful of people that I have shot once or twice a year for the past 10 years. Some have grown from children to adults, and some like Robert have simply aged like a slowly fermenting brew. I took some time out of my schedule last night to stop by and shoot some images of him, as well as document his ongoing full-body tattoo he has been building for almost 9 years. Some of you may know Robert from bar-tripping around Raleigh’s downtown scene. But true friends know him as a great artist, one of the three founding fathers of “Drunken Russian-Artist’s Night” (Among many other ill fated photographer gatherings), and guitarist for the best genre-defining math-metal bands to come out of North Carolina, The Abernathy Complex.

Shane Deruise Photography

The Abernathy Complex was one of the first bands to give me a shot at photographing them. Even back in the day with no lighting equipment, and an overbearing college professor filling my head with photo do’s and don’ts. Needless to say, I am very thankful for that day, as I made some of the nicest friends I have ever had.

To Robert, Mario, Johnny, David, and John… I hope the world finds you well, with beer in hand good sirs.

Be sure to check out my show PhotoBrew… only the best in DIY photo goodness! And subscribe to my YOUTUBE!

